Main content start

Part-time

Continuing Education Fund (CEF)

In 2002, the HKSAR Government announced the setting up of a HK$ 5 billion Continuing Education Fund (CEF) to provide subsidies to those who aspire to enhance their competitiveness in the knowledge based economy through pursuing continuing education. CEF applicants who successfully complete CEF reimbursable courses and pass the required assessments will be reimbursed 80% of the course fees, capped at HK$ 10,000. The CEF enhancement measures have been implemented from 1 April 2019. The subsidy ceiling has increased from $10,000 to $20,000 per applicant. To tie in with the enhancement measures, the School is actively expending the scope of our CEF reimbursable courses to areas of Chinese Medicine, Health Care, Education, Arts, and etc., in response to the learning needs of different learners.

 

The School has designed a variety of quality programmes and courses in the areas of Business Services, Design, Financial Services, Languages, Logistics, Tourism and Creative Industries that qualify for CEF reimbursement.

 

The following information is extracted from the website of the Continuing Education Fund at https://www.wfsfaa.gov.hk/cef/en/index.htm, whichever is subject to it.

 

 

 

Enhancement Measures of Continuing Education Fund and Implementation Time

The enhancement measures have been implemented with effect from 1 April 2019, with details as follows –

  • increasing the CEF subsidy ceiling from $10,000 to $20,000 per applicant;
  • closed CEF accounts to be re-activated, so that the account holders can make use of the unused balance (if any) under the original subsidy of $10,000 as well as the additional subsidy of $10,000;
  • regarding the co-payment ratios by learners (i.e. the percentage of course fee to be borne by learners), the ratio for the first $10,000 subsidy is 20% of the course fee and that for the second $10,000 subsidy is 40% of the course fee;
  • relaxing the upper age limit for applicants from 65 to 70;
  • expanding the scope of CEF courses to all eligible courses registered in Qualifications Register (QR);
  • lifting the restrictions on the validity period or the number of claims for CEF accounts, namely, applicants may submit an unlimited number of reimbursement claims for a total subsidy up to $20,000 before reaching the upper age limit (i.e. before the date they reach the age of 71);
  • an applicant may submit an application to open a CEF account together with an application for the first reimbursement claim after successful completion of the first CEF course, instead of the current requirements of submitting the application to open a CEF account before the commencement of the CEF course. Moreover, applicants are required to submit their reimbursement claims within one year upon the successful completion of a CEF course; and
  • enhancing the quality assurance monitoring of CEF courses.

 

 

Applicable to CEF reimbursable courses commenced before 1 April 2019

The enhancement measures have no retrospective effect. For CEF reimbursable courses that commenced before 1 April 2019, reimbursement claims will be processed by Office of Continuing Education Fund (OCEF) in accordance with the requirements in force before 1 April 2019 (i.e. subsidy ceiling is HK$10,000, 4 years validity period, maximum number of 4 claims and upper age limit of 66, etc.). For those applicants who have opened a CEF account before 1 April 2019, they could apply for fee reimbursement according to the reimbursement procedures as stated below.

 

 

Applicable to CEF reimbursable courses commenced on or after 1 April 2019

Eligibility

Persons who meet the following criteria can apply for CEF:

  • Hong Kong residents who have the right of abode or the right to land or to remain in Hong Kong without restriction; or holders of one-way permit from Mainland China;
  • Aged between 18 and 70 (i.e. before reaching the age of 71) both at the time when the CEF reimbursable course under application commences and at the time when an application for fee reimbursement is submitted, which should be within one year upon the *successful completion of the CEF reimbursable course. Late applications will not be accepted;
  • Have enrolled in and paid the tuition fee for the CEF reimbursable course; and
  • Have not obtained any other public funds or assistance under any other publicly-funded financial assistance schemes for the same course.


* "Successful completion of the CEF reimbursable course" means the claimant has an attendance rate of not less than 70% (or such higher attendance requirement as prescribed for the course) and has passed the course assessments as required by the School. Applicants studying language proficiency course are required to pass a specified benchmark test / examination (if applicable) at the specified (or higher) level to be eligible for fee reimbursement.

 

Reimbursement Procedures

  • With effect from 1 April 2019, applicants who apply for CEF for the first time are only required to complete Application Form [SFO 302 (2019)], which is a combined application form for both account opening and fee reimbursement. This combined form is also applicable to applicants who have opened a CEF account before 1 April 2019 to apply for fee reimbursement only.
  • The CEF Application Form [SFO 302 (2019)] can be obtained from OCEF/District Offices/the School or downloaded from the website of CEF.
  • Before completing the application from, applicants could apply for a Letter of Certification with the School for making a claim for CEF reimbursement.
  • The following information should be filled by referring to the Guidance Notes for Application [SFO 301(2019)] and Letter of Certification:
          (i) Name of Institution: CUHK-SCS
          (ii) CEF Institution Code: 105
          (iii) CEF Course Title
          (iv) CEF Course Code
          (v) Course Commencement Date
          (vi) Course Completion Date
          (vii) Date of 1st Instalment of Tuition Fees Paid
          (viii) Actual Amount of Tuition Fees Paid
  • The completed application form with certification by the School together with copies of supporting documents [Hong Kong Smart Identity Card, one-way permit (if applicable), documentary proof of course fee paid, letter of certification, documentary proof of passing the specified benchmark test / examination (if applicable), benchmark test / examination fee receipts (if applicable) and the front page of the applicant’s bank passbook or bank statement showing the name, account number and bank name / bank code] should be submitted to OCEF:

    Address:
    Office of the Continuing Education Fund
    Units 07-11, 25/F., CDW Building
    388 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan
    Hong Kong

    Or place the applications in the designated drop-in boxes located at Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices.
  • Copies of all submitted supporting documents are not returnable. Applicants should retain copies for their own reference.

 

 

Notification of Result for Reimbursement Applications

  • If applicants do not receive any acknowledgement of receipt by SMS messages or in writing (applicable to applicant who would like to receive an "Acknowledge of Receipt of Application" in writing and has attached a stamped and self-addressed envelope) from OCEF after 10 working days from the date of submission of their applications, please contact OCEF at 3142-2277.
  • In general, application results will be issued within six weeks from the date of receipt of the application for existing CEF account holders or eight weeks for the first time applicants subject to the provision of complete and accurate information.


For enquiries, please contact OCEF’s 24-hour hotline at 3142-2277 or the School at 2209-0274/2209-0235.

 

 

 

Please click here for details of the procedures for handling complaints related to CEF courses.

特別通告

香港中文大學專業進修學院 (CUSCS) 通告 (2019年11月20日)


CUSCS以同學及教職員的安全為首要考慮,現公佈以下安排:
 

  1. 高級文憑及基礎教育文憑課程安排

  2. 原定於2019年11月20至24日(星期三至日)在尖沙咀東海及安年教學中心進行的兼讀制課堂取消(個別調遷至中環教學中心課堂除外)。本院將個別以電話短訊通知有關學員。
     
  3. 東海教學中心於2019年11月21至22日(星期四至五)暫停辦公,而安年教學中心於此時段辦公時間改爲上午9時至下午6時。
關閉
Main content start

兼讀制

持續進修基金(CEF)

香港特別行政區政府於2002年成立「持續進修基金」,撥出50億港元,為有志進修及提升個人競爭力的人士提供資助。每位申請人在完成「可獲發還款項課程」及取得有關的成績要求後,可獲發還有關課程費用的80%,資助上限為HK$10,000。持續進修基金的優化措施已於2019年4月1日起實施,基金的資助上限由每人HK$10,000增加至HK$20,000。為配合此優化措施,本院正積極增加持續進修基金課程的選擇,包括將課程範疇擴展至中醫藥、醫療保健、教育、藝術等,以回應不同進修人士的學習需要。

 

本院現提供多項「持續進修基金可獲發還款項」課程,數目正在不斷增加,而課程涉及的範圍甚廣,包括商業服務、設計、金融服務業、語文、物流業、旅遊業及創意工業。

 

以下資料摘錄自持續進修基金網頁https://www.wfsfaa.gov.hk/cef/tc/index.htm,一切以其為準。

 

 

 

優化措施及實施時間

優化措施由2019年4月1日起實施,詳情如下:

  • 提高基金的資助上限,由每人HK$10,000增加至HK$20,000;
  • 過去已結束的基金帳戶會重新啟動,讓帳戶持有人重新使用原有的HK$10,000資助的結餘(如有),以及新增的HK$10,000資助;
  • 就學員共付比率(即學員本身需負擔的課程費用的百分比)方面,首1萬元資助的比率為課程費用的20%,而次1萬元資助的比率為課程費用的40%;
  • 申請人的年齡上限由65歲提高至70歲;
  • 擴大基金課程的範疇至所有在資歷名冊登記的合資格課程;
  • 基金帳戶不再設有年期或申領次數限制,即申請人可在年齡上限屆滿前(即年滿71歲前),不限次數申領合共最多2萬元資助;
  • 申請人可在成功修畢第一項基金課程後,一併遞交開戶及第一次申領發還款項的申請,免除現時申請人須在開課前遞交開戶申請的規定。另外,申請人須在成功修畢一項基金課程後的一年內就該項課程遞交申領發還款項的申請;以及
  • 加強對基金課程的質素保證監管。

 

 

報讀於2019年4月1日前開課的基金課程

優化措施不設追溯期。持續進修基金辦事處於審批2019年4月1日前開課的基金課程的發還款項申請時,將根據2019年4月1日前實施的規定(包括資助上限HK$10,000、四年申領期限、申領申請次數上限四次、年齡上限65歲等)進行審批。申請人如報讀於2019年4月1日前開課的基金課程,可按以下之申請發還款項手續作出發還款項的申請。

 

 

報讀2019年4月1日或以後開課的基金課程

申請資格

申請人必須:

  • 屬香港居民並擁有香港居留權、或香港入境權、或有權在香港逗留而不受任何逗留條件限制、或持單程證從中國大陸來港定居的人士;
  • 申請人在所選修的基金課程開課時,及在*成功修畢課程後的一年內遞交申請時,年齡均須介乎18 至70歲(即年齡屆滿71歲之前)。逾期遞交的申請概不受理;
  • 報讀基金課程,並已支付全部學費;以及
  • 從未就同一項課程、學習單元或學分獲其他公帑或在其他公帑資助計劃下獲得任何資助。


*「成功修畢課程」指申請人已出席不少於基金課程總上課時數的百分之七十(或課程所規定的較高出席要求)及通過本院規定的課程評核。修讀語文能力課程的申請人,另需在指定的基準試(如適用)中取得指定或更高的程度,才符合申請發還款項的資格。

 

 

申請發還款項手續

  • 由2019年4月1日起,首次申請的人士,只需填妥申請表格 [SFO 302 (2019)] 及提交所需文件,便可同時申請開立持續進修基金帳戶及發還款項。此申請表格亦適用於之前已開戶之申請人,單就發還款項而作出的申請。
  • 申請表格 [SFO302(2019)] 可於各區民政事務處、持續進修基金辦事處或本院索取,也可從持續進修基金網頁下載。
  • 申請人填寫申請表格前,請向本院申請修業證明信作申領發還款項之用。
  • 填寫申請表格時,請參閱有關持續進修基金申請指引 [SFO301(2019)] 及按照修業證明信上資料填寫表格:
          (i) 院校名稱: 香港中文大學專業進修學院
          (ii) 持續進修基金院校編號: 105
          (iii) 持續進修基金課程名稱
          (iv) 持續進修基金課程編號
          (v) 課程開課日期
          (vi) 課程完成日期
          (vii) 繳交第一期學費日期
          (viii) 實際已付學費
  • 申請人須把填妥並已獲本院蓋印的申請表格連同所需文件副本 [即香港智能身份證、單程證(如適用)、繳付課程費用的證明文件、修業證明信、基準試成績單(如適用)、繳付基準試考試費用的證明文件(如適用)及載有申請人的姓名、帳戶號碼及銀行名稱 / 銀行編號的銀行存摺首頁或月結單] 遞交至持續進修基金辦事處。

    地址 : 香港荃灣青山公路388號中染大廈25樓07-11室
         持續進修基金辦事處

    或把申請表格連同所需文件副本放入長沙灣政府合署指定的投遞箱內。
  • 所有已遞交的證明文件概不退還。申請人應自備副本,以作參考。

 

 

申請結果及發放款項安排

  • 如果申請人在提交申請之日起10個工作天後仍未收到短訊或書面確認收妥申請通知(適用於附有回郵信封 「索取確認收妥申請通知」),請致電持續進修基金辦事處3142-2277。
  • 如申請人提供的證明文件足夠及妥當,辦事處會在收到申請表格當日起計六星期(適用於已開立帳戶的申請人)或八星期(適用於首次開立帳戶的申請人)內發出申請結果通知書。


如有任何查詢,可致電持續進修基金辦事處24小時熱線 3142-2277或 本院2209-0274/2209-0235。

 

 

 

有關持續進修基金課程投訴處理機制,請按此(只提供英文版本)了解詳情。