Main content start


Historic Highlights



  • 1965

    Department of Extramural Studies of The Chinese University of Hong Kong was established, offering courses mainly in culture, art and languages.

  • 1979

    Began offering award-bearing programmes at certificate, diploma, advanced diploma and professional diploma levels.

  • 1988

    Started collaboration with professional organisations, as well as overseas and mainland academic institutions to offer award-bearing programmes.

  • 1994

    Renamed as the School of Continuing Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

  • 1996

    Introduced tailor-made corporate training services to various organisations in Hong Kong and Mainland China.

  • 2001

    Launched full-time Pre-associate Degree and Associate Degree programmes in 2001 and 2002 respectively. (These programmes have been run by The Chinese University of Hong Kong – Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Community College since September 2005.)

  • 2002

    Began offering full-time Higher Diploma programmes, in support of Hong Kong SAR Government's initiative in enhancing access to higher education.

  • 2005

    Started admitting non-local students from Mainland China and South-East Asia for full-time Higher Diploma programmes.

  • 2006

    Renamed as the School of Continuing and Professional Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
    Launched the full-time Top-up Undergraduate Degree programmes in collaboration with overseas universities.
    Expanded the Central Learning Centre.

  • 2007

    Opened the Mongkok Learning Centre. (The Centre was closed in July 2012, while Tseung Kwan O Learning Centre was opened in September 2012.)

  • 2008

    Offered more than 200 programmes which were included in the Qualification Register.

  • 2009

    Offered about 500 CEF reimbursable courses.

  • 2010

    Launched the new School's emblem and set up five academies, namely the Creative Academy, Liberal Arts Academy, Management Academy, Professional Development Academy and Advanced Development Academy.

  • 2011

    Signed memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies, strengthening cooperation between the two schools.

  • 2012

    Opened the Tseung Kwan O Learning Centre.
    Launched Continuing and Professional Education Centre (CPEC), Shenzhen Research Institute, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

  • 2014

    Launched the Global Career Development Facilitator (GCDF) – Hong Kong Programme
    Introduced the Diploma Programme in Foundation Studies

  • 2015

    Celebrated 50th Anniversary Golden Jubilee